February Shorts 2016

topless-hemingway-part-4

Here’s a rather disturbing picture of Ernest Hemingway in shorts, (it’s surprising how many disturbing images of Ernest Hemingway in shorts you’ll find if you stumble into the wrong search on Google). I’m not intending to spend much time thinking about Ernest Hemingway’s shorts, both the wearing kind and the written kind. As most of you know I’m not a big fan of Hemingway. I’m only posting this picture to inform you all that it’s February Shorts time again and I’m quite excited.

Every year I take the excuse of February being the shortest month to read nothing but short stories for 28 days, (or 29 on a Leap Year). It’s nice to take a break from reading novels. This year it’s particularly nice to take a break from reading Infinite Jest. (I haven’t actually started reading it yet, but I have moved it from the bookcase downstairs to my bedside table and even that took a full month of concentrated effort).

I love the short story and many of my favourite writers are incredibly strong in this format. My list of books to devour this February include Lorrie Moore, Christine Dwyer-Hickey, George Saunders, James Salter, Elizabeth Taylor and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I can’t wait to get started. Does anyone else fancy joining me for 29 days of short story reading?

Leave a Reply

