Happy 1/3 Birthday Malcolm Orange

10610773_10152703589518216_4627509450350145250_n

My debut novel Malcolm Orange Disappears is 4 months old today and I thought this would be a good opportunity to bring you up to date on our adventures so far. It’s been a roller coaster of a season for me. When my novel was first published there was a flurry of articles to be written, reviews and interviews with the press and media. I thought things would quickly calm down and in some aspects the last few months have been less of a hurricane in terms of the press but I’ve been fortunate enough to get to continue reading from Malcolm to live audiences all over Ireland and, as of the beginning of September, to an enormous number of lovely people throughout the USA.

Malcolm Orange Disappears is continuing to sell well back in the UK and Ireland and I am so very grateful for everyone who’s bought a copy and particularly those of you who’ve taken the time to give me feedback. I’m around 87,000 words into writing my second novel and each time someone emails or stops me to talk about what they thought of Malcolm, it’s a timely reminder of why I should persevere to the end of this novel. I’m still humbled and blown away every time I get up to read and there are people in the audience who are both, not related to me, and reasonably pleased to be there. The people I’ve met and their responses to my story have undoubtedly been the best part of the whole publishing process and these last 6 weeks in America Malcolm Orange has been such a great vehicle for meeting writers, readers, artists and all manner of incredible characters in ten cities so far, (four more to go). It’s been a once in a lifetime adventure traipsing round America with this wee book in tow.

As I’ve traveled around people have been asking if there’s anything they can do to help. There are a few different things you can do which I’d greatly appreciate and which would really ensure Malcolm continues to have a life beyond his first quarter year. You can still buy the book of course. Ideally you can order from your local independent book store or order from Amazon US here http://amzn.com/1909718319 or Amazon UK here http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1909718319 If you’ve read the book and would consider leaving a short review on Amazon or even Tweeting under the hashtag malcolmorangedisappears that would also be amazing. (My Twitter handle is @jancarson7280 if you want to follow me). You can also ask your local library to stock the book. (I’ve just found out that Bob Dylan’s old High School, Hibbing High have ordered Malcolm for their school library and I couldn’t be more chuffed). If you work for a blog, newspaper or magazine and would like an article or would like to review the novel that would be very much appreciated. Finally, I’m going to be looking for more places to read in the next few months so if you would like me to read at your literary event, book store, library or university, don’t be shy, get in touch and I’ll see what I can do.

A massive thank you to all those wonderful, supportive individuals who’ve given Malcolm and I a hand along the road so far. We are both grateful and a little overwhelmed.

One thought on “Happy 1/3 Birthday Malcolm Orange

Leave a Reply

