The Mother of all Road Trips

10176007_10152340746563216_360743089451266916_n

This autumn I’m off to America for a massive six week road trip. The reasons are twin-fold. I’ll be spending some time in the Midwest and on the East Coast researching Bob Dylan’s early life for the novel I’m currently working on, Roundabouts. I’ll also be using every opportunity I can to promote my first novel Malcolm Orange Disappears and working with the American publishers to build links with new readers across the US. Exciting stuff.

I’ve finally managed to book some flights, draw up an itinerary and make inroads into getting some readings and workshops booked in quite a few of these locations. (Already starting to understand why writers have agents to do this sort of thing for them. It’s exhausting and exhilarating at the same time).I would love some help from you, my fabulous social media friends.

If you know of anyone in any of these places who might like to hold a reading, interview me on the radio, run an article in the local press, hold a writing workshop I would love to hear from you. There are also a couple of places where I still need a place to stay so if you have friends who’d like to have a wee traveller camp out on their sofa/spare bed/front garden for a few days I’d be very grateful if you’d get in touch. Am trying to complete this somewhat epic adventure on an absolute shoestring and much as I love Mr Dylan I’d prefer not to have to sleep on any box cars whilst en route from West to East. Finally if you’ve got travel guides or personal recommendations of must-sees in these cities feel free to share, (especially if recommendations are food based). When I get some actual reading dates you’ll be the first to know and you can all come out, or send your friends out, to heckle and indulge in post-performance pint drinking. What an autumn it’s going to be!

10252165_10152345002478216_8220187371241977942_n

Travel Dates:

Monday 1st to Friday 5th September – Salt Lake City

Friday 5th to Monday 8th September- Los Angeles

Monday 8th to Friday 12th September – Portland, Oregon

Friday 12th to Saturday 13th September- Richland, Washington

Saturday 13th to Monday 15th September – Spokane, Washington

Monday 15th to Wednesday 17th September- Seattle

Wednesday 17th to Saturday 20th September- Vancouver, BC

Saturday 20th to Thursday 25th September- Madison, Wisconsin

Thursday 25th September to Wednesday 1st October- Duluth, Minnesota

Wednesday 1st to Saturday 4th October- Minneapolis

Saturday 4th to Tuesday 7th October- Chicago

Tuesday 7th to Saturday 11th October- Washington DC

Saturday 11th to Monday 13th October – Philidelphia

Monday 13th to Friday 17th October- New York

Leave a Reply

