Highway 61 Visited (Soon)

1506814_10152144184803216_1925493195_n

1549464_10152144184718216_1087107081_n

This week the postman brought me some treats; a giant map of America and a lovely guide book of the Midwest. It’s a long time since I’ve been this excited about anything.

This year I’m working on a novel called Roundabouts which, though primarily based in Ballymena features two characters drawn together by their shared love of Bob Dylan’s music and life. I’m going to be using some of the funding from the ACES scheme to spend around 6 weeks in the US this summer, researching Bob Dylan’s early life. I’m hoping to visit New York, Minnesota, DC and various other Dylan-ish places. I’m in the process of compiling a list of places relevant to the man himself during his childhood and early career. My favourite so far is this “lovely” papier mache statue of Dylan in Hibbing, Minnesota. Very lifelike, I’m sure you’ll agree.

SaraMarkandBob

If you know of any place I should visit, any person I should talk to, any book I need to read, (and let me preface this by telling you all I read 43 books about Bob Dylan for my Masters dissertation and still barely scratched the surface of the enormous amount of material written about him), please, please give me a wee shout. Over the next few weeks I’m going be taking a big red pen to my map of America and plotting my route after which I’ll be looking for places to stay and people to drink beer and coffee with all the way round the Midwest. I’ll let you all know my schedule. Until then send your Dylan thoughts and suggestions this way and let’s all get thinking about the Bob mix tape to end all mix tapes for cruising down Highway 61. This is going to be the best summer ever.

2 thoughts on “Highway 61 Visited (Soon)

  1. Hopefully you don’t find this strange but…….I stumbled upon this post as I was “researching” Dylan and I think your trip down Highway 61 sounds awesome. I’m a huge Dylan fan myself (although I haven’t read anywhere near 43 books about him). Also I live smack dab in the middle of Highway 61 (in St. Louis, MO), but somehow I’ve never even considered traveling the route. Anyway your writing is great, I hope your trip is fantastic, and I look forward to reading your book sometime in the future. Enjoy your summer.

Leave a Reply

